Spanish Suite – Toccata for piano

The “Suite Espagnole” is a collection of compositions by Philippe Mathis, including the Toccata, a piece that pays tribute to the tradition of virtuosity of the pianist and the quality of the instrument.

Written by Philippe Mathis, the Toccata is a technically demanding and expressive piece that allows the pianist to demonstrate his skill and mastery of the piano.

The lyrical inspiration of the composition suggests that it evokes emotions and feelings, captivating the listener with its sensitivity and rhythmic pulse. The combination of rhythms creates a musical experience that is both moving and invigorating.

Inclusion in the Stage and Screen collection produced by Ablaze Records suggests that the work could also be used in film or theatre, enhancing its evocative and narrative qualities.

In its entirety, the Toccata from Philippe Mathis’s Suite Espagnole is a dynamic, expressive composition, suitable for any concert repe
rtoire and sure to engage and immerse the audience in images that stimulate the imagination.

Philippe Mathis’s Toccata for Piano wins the “Contemporary Piano 2016” Composition Prize

Toccata perfoormed by Dimitris Anousis
Toccata (Spanish suite”

Dimitris Anousis website

Antoine Villéger – Road to Spasskaya

Road to Spasskaya (tower) written by Antoine Villéger (15 y. o.) had it’s world premiere on March 20, 2022 with the Omsk Symphony Orchestra (conductor Dmitry Vasilyev). The magnificent piece, full of Slavic soul and written with outstanding finesse, shows us wonderful orchestral abilities of the young composer.

This piece was written following Antoine’s visit to the Military Music Festival of the Spasskaya Tower in Moscow. In his score he has phrased the impressions of a trip to this major festival of music and cultures.

We invite you to discover this beautiful interpretation of the Omsk Symphonic Orchestra conducted by Dmitry Vasiliev.   

Link to the complete concert  

Antoine Villéger and Dmitry Vasiliev

Dmitry Vasiliev is artistic director and principal conductor of the Siberian Symphony Orchestra since 2005. You can read his biography here :